I don’t wear lipstick, but I do use a phone.

In my collections I had a beautifully beaded lipstick case. The colors, the texture, the tremendous amount of work by nimble fingered chinese employees, even the weight were all wonderful and worth saving, but I don’t wear lipstick. Heck, I barely wear Chapstick! So I wanted to refashion it into something useful for everyday, and something that wouldn’t get hidden away. (Yes, I am a poet.) My solution: reinvent the lipstick case into a cell phone protector. Since I don’t wear a purse either, I wanted the case to be able to hold my small wallet and a few dollars as well.

After a deep breath and a little mental envisioning, I began to tear apart the original case, revealing all the beaded parts, the closure, and the little mirror (which will get used in a future project). I then judiciously selected fabric from my scraps stash (I chose fabric with a water resistant backing), traced the body of the bead-work onto the fabric, and cut and sewed the pocket together. I stacked the end portions of the lipstick case to form a closure, and repeated the previous process with the original snap sandwiched into the flap. Then I attached all the beaded portions to the fabric and put the two sections together.

I love this piece, and showed it off already at my latest trip to Lowes. Now I have a stunning one-of-a-kind and useful accessory which will prevent further scratches on my cell screen, and keep all my go get ’em essentials together. You can make your own cell phone case out of wonderful items around the house worth saving. Trace your phone and add a 1/4″ all around for depth, mark an extra 1/4″-1/2″ for seam allowance, and get to stitching. It’s such a small sized project that you’re sure to complete it!

Leave a Reply

